Skip to content

Calculating Attainment 8

The qualifications used in the Attainment 8 calculation are:

  1. A double weighted maths element score.
  1. A double weighted English element score. This will be the highest point score from either the English Language or English Literature. Double weighting will only apply if the student has taken both qualifications.  In 2016 an English (combined) qualification can be included and double weighted.
  1. An element which can include the three highest point scores from any of the EBacc qualifications in science subjects, computer science, history, geography, and languages.
  1. The final element will contain the three highest point scores in any three other subjects, including English Language or Literature (if not already counted in the English slot), further GCSE qualifications (including EBacc subjects) or any other non-GCSE qualifications on the DfE approved list.

The sum of the scores across these 4 elements is a students Attainment 8 score.

If a student has not taken the maximum number of qualifications that count in each group, then they will receive a point score of zero where a slot is empty.

Detailed examples can be found at:

A list of the qualifications that will be included in the 2016 performance tables can be found on the DfE website at:

Subject point scores are changing in 2016 from the 16-58 (Grade C – 40 points) to a 1-8 point scale (Grade C – 5 points).  1 point will be awarded for the current equivalent of a GCSE grade G rising to 8 points for a current GCSE grade A*.  Non-GCSE subjects will also use this 1-8 scale.

When the reformed GCSEs are included (2017 for English and mathematics and 2018 and 2019 for other subjects) these will have a new grading scale using 1-9.  A GCSE grade 9 will get 9 points in the performance tables measures.

Table 1 – New point score scales for unreformed GCSEs 

GCSE Grade 2016 points 2017 and 2018 points
G 1.00 1.00
F 2.00 1.50
E 3.00 2.00
D 4.00 3.00
C 5.00 4.00
B 6.00 5.50
A 7.00 7.00
A* 8.00 8.50

Table 2 – New 2016 point score scales for BTEC First Award 

BTEC First Award grade 2016 points
Level 1 Pass 2.50
Level 2 Pass 5.00
Level 2 Merit 6.00
Level 2 Distinction 7.00
Level 2 Distinction* 8.00

 Full details on how point scores will be used and calculated can be found on the DfE website at:

Back To Top

We use cookies to improve your online experience. For information on the cookies we use and for details on how we process your personal information, please see our privacy policy. To make full use of our website you must accept the cookies by clicking the button below. You can reset your cookie preference at any time by using the 'Reset Cookie Consent' button in our website footer.